HURRY UP, HURRY UP, WE’RE DREAMING by Thomas Callahan

September 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

9.6.11

Hurry up, Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming.

by Thomas Callahan

M83 is going to release a new record, entitled Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming in October. This is very exciting news. In a conversation last night I described my affinity for their music as having inexplicable holes in its timeline. When I was introduced to them around the time the song Don’t Save Us From the Flames was released, I was blown apart. Over the course of the next five or six years, I bounced back and forth between obsessively rocking out to M83 and totally forgetting that they existed. I can’t recall that type of bizarre to and fro occurring between myself and another artist.

For sure, M83 can be incredibly droney. Their songs hover in the five and a half-minute range, on average. The vocals are often buried in the mix among an ocean of keyboards and fuzzed out guitars. They are experimental and a tad self-indulgent, but it works. It works because their product is one of total lack of compromise.  Suffice to say I am on a raging M83 kick as of late, and it is coinciding with them releasing their most massive effort to date, a double album. That alone kicks crazy amounts of ass. I was just lamenting the fact that albums seem to be going the way of the rotary phone and along comes M83 like they’re a seventies era Rush.

The album’s first single, Midnight City is wonderful. It’s a bit poppy, in style as well as length. All that indicates to me is that there are probably some noisy and lengthy tracks on the new record that it serves to offset. And when this band is firing on all cylinders, their gigantic sound is like nothing I’ve ever heard. Actually, it’s like LOTS of things I’ve heard. My Bloody Valentine, Sigur Ros, Mogwai, and Mew leap to mind. M83 do manage to create a totally original sound. They simply seem to incorporate some of these bands techniques in order to do so. Nothing wrong with that.

I am currently listening to the Saturdays=Youth album as I write this. It is magnificent. The song We Own the Sky is one of my favorites of M83. It is a soaring, melodic admission that we “kill what we build.” Most of the sparse, lyrically vague vocals are difficult to fully understand the first few times through. That line however, kicked its way into my head like a drug raid the very first time I heard it.

M83 is certainly not for everyone. I love that about them. Really, they’re for themselves. No band gets together to make this music that doesn’t feel one hundred percent compelled to do exactly that. Come on, October.

Read more byThomas Callahan

Find out more about M83

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading HURRY UP, HURRY UP, WE’RE DREAMING by Thomas Callahan at blank canvas magazine.

meta

